Hello Guest

Help a Noob sort out lift options.

• 19 Replies

Offline SlickO

Help a Noob sort out lift options.
« on: September 12, 2011, 09:35:39 PM »
Hello, I am new to Suzuki. Just bought my first 2000 grand vitara auto, it should be delivered tomorrow ;D.  A little about myself I live in Vancouver Wa,  and bought the gv for hunting and trail riding. My friend bought a samurai and looking back at my purchase I feel that a samurai would have worked better, oh well at least I have 3 seats in the back.

So I have been looking at my options for lifting it. I would like to get some usable lift for the trail not going to build a full on crawler but diffidently not just for gravel back roads.  At the same time will use it to go to work daily.  So far from what I read my best option is Jeff's lift and 2" body lift. Then I want to add 1" diff drop brackets, and maybe lengthen the trailing arms in the back (got a friend that can weld pretty well).  And will likely run 31' tires.

I was wondering can I get the strut extensions and some junkyard springs xl7 or something else to raise it a bit more? If I extend the trailing arms in the back will I need (not sure what its called) a spacer on top of the rear diff?

Anny suggestions, or anyone see problems with this plan? To sum it up I want to do a Jeffs kit +, so that I can keep up with a samurai on SPOA ~4-5 inch lift. One more thing would like to add I am not interested in buying a ready kit like the calmini or rockyroad some of those cost more than what I paid for the GV, but don't want to cut corners.
(and I did search and read a lot of posts here and on other forums).
« Last Edit: September 12, 2011, 09:41:17 PM by SlickO »
2000 GV 4 Door Auto, Stock so far (waiting for delivery).

Re: Help a Noob sort out lift options.
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 09:49:05 AM »