Hello Guest

Project Kickota

• 133 Replies

Offline biker

• It's a sickness I tell ya
Project Kickota
« on: January 29, 2009, 07:18:46 PM »
I thought I'd start up a build thread on my project that I've been tinkering on. My old 91 Tracker is getting beat up and tired so I decided to put my retired DD 94 Kick under the cutting wheel. This is my first time going into such depth building a rig and for sure my first time building a susp system. I'd like to hear what you  have for pointers in regards to what I'm doing right or wrong. I had some time over Xmas so I actually made a little progress.
I started by retiring my 94 Kick DD and adding a few parts from a Toy pickup that I bought and parted out, I kept the axles and t-case.
I'm planning to run 36 Iroks when done. >:D

« Last Edit: January 29, 2009, 08:20:45 PM by biker »
94 Kick with bigger tires
99 Vitara 2wd
10 Gr Vitara

Offline biker

Re: Project Kickota
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 07:24:22 PM »
I rebuilt the Toy axles with 5.29 gears and Aussie lockers, all new bearings etc also. I added a high steer and IFS hubs and calipers with 98 Tacoma rotors to the front. This widens the front to Toy IFS width and upgrades the brakes as well. I had to add 1/4 inch spacers for my rims to clear the calipers. I also got my radius arm brackets welded on at an angle so that my arms will run inside the frame rails.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2009, 07:28:50 PM by biker »
99 Vitara 2wd
10 Gr Vitara

Offline biker

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 07:35:38 PM »
I then removed the IFS stuff from the front and got the axle set under it and started trying to figure out where it will fit best. It turns out that I need the steering box to be about 2.5 inches forward so the drag link will clear the tie rod. So I made up a plate and welded it to the frame then moved the box forward and remounted it using sleeves inside the frame and another plate on the outside of the frame.
99 Vitara 2wd
10 Gr Vitara

Offline biker