Hello Guest

98 4door Suzuki Sidekick sport 1.8l help plz

• 21 Replies

Offline Dennis .89-

• I Owe I Owe, So Off To Work I Go!!
98 4door Suzuki Sidekick sport 1.8l help plz
« on: December 21, 2008, 09:14:40 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the off roading world but would love to get into it
i am only 18 atm but a dirt biker for 15 years.
my dad bought me my first vehicle ( 98 Sidekick sport 4door 1.8l )
Since i got this i feel in love with the design, the way it handles on snow, ice & mud.
so me & my dad decided to to make 2 1/2" spacers & it worked wonderfully !!
well fairly easily since my dads a machinist & I'm currently a millwright.

Since then i bought some cheap used 235,70/16's tires.
im thinking of going allot further, but don't know where to start.
In my discoveries i have found out that lockers might be very useful.
i also was wondering why most of the zuki's get Toyota's axle's?
is it because of the locker's strength is to much for the stock zuki axle?

Thnx, Dennis

Offline Jeremiah

• Viva La ZUKIWORLD!
Re: 98 4door Suzuki Sidekick sport 1.8l help plz
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2008, 01:01:43 AM »
Toy's are popular because they're much stronger than stock (important if you're going to 33"+ tires, or if you abuse the truck on 31"+ tires), and it opens up diff-gearing options. I'm very pleased with my 4-door on 29" tires and open diffs. I can go in all but the hardest (read: Rubicon crazy rock crawling) trails. If I need more traction, I'm going to go with lockers long before I consider more lift & tires. The bigger the tires you get, the more you'll be chasing "weak links"... which means more $$$ and less reliability.

/end my 2 cents
'96 4 door kick: 29" Pep-Boys M/T, 1.5" OME
'83 SJ410: 31" Toyo M/T, SPOA, 1.3L
'08 Yamaha FZ6

Offline jeff1997

• Suzuki: A Jeep thing only cheaper!!!!
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 03:17:24 PM »