Hello Guest

Proud of my first Suzuki! Newbie questions...

• 23 Replies

Offline akfedor7

• I Love ZUKIWORLD!
Proud of my first Suzuki! Newbie questions...
« on: August 29, 2006, 08:57:06 AM »
Since this is my first post I’ll go ahead and tell everybody that I am an absolute noob with Suzukis and off road accessories. I have always had and used 4x4 vehicles, just never did any modifications. So go easy on me if I ask a stupid question…

Last weekend I purchased a 1997 Sidekick sport with automatic transmission. I have a few questions involving different areas on this vehicle. Any help is greatly appreciated…

1.   This truck has 102K miles on it. Any general maintenance type things I should have done or checked for? The check engine light is on(was told it needs an O2 sensor), but it runs fine.
2.   I gotta have some bigger tires! It currently has 215-55’s on it and looks like a lowrider! What is the largest tire that can fit this sidekick without any modifications? I have searched these forums and other sites and cant seem to find a consistent answer to this question
3.   I am considering a slight lift, but nothing too crazy. I cant afford a whole lot right now. I have looked at coil spacers and body lifts so far(suspension seems too expensive). Which of the two will be cheaper and easiest to install. I don’t have a very good place to perform automotive alterations, and have never done much beyond changing plugs and a water pump on my old Cherokee, so ease of installation is very important. And how much tire size can I expect to gain with typical body lifts or coil spacers?
4.   finally, I need a rack for this truck. Nothing heavy duty, since my old flimsy factory rack on my Cherokee worked fine for years. All I ever use it for is to carry a lightweight canoe. Do they make a factory roof rack? If not, do you recommend any aftermarket ones that are reasonably priced?
1997 SIDEKICK SPORT, stock for now...

Offline Rhinoman

• Bend it, Break it, Fix it