Hello Guest

Sleeping in the Vitara

• 9 Replies

Offline samuraidan

• speak softly, and carry a big stick
    • City Ranger
Sleeping in the Vitara
« on: October 22, 2012, 09:43:18 AM »
I'm back!! I haven't been on here for the last several months; going through a divorce. She got the boat, but the good news is i got the Suzuki!  >:D

Anyways, now that i'm a free man I've got lots of camping trips planned this winter season. Out here on the West Coast we hardly get any snow, so we can easily camp all year round.  All you need are lots of tarps and a good pair of gum boots cause what we lack in snow we make up in buckets and buckets of rain! 

I've always been a tent'er - still am. But when the forecast calls for 40-50 mm (that's almost 2" for you Americans) of rain in 24 hours, having a warm dry truck to sleep in is a nice option. So this weekend i started drawing and measuring and i think i can make something that'll work.

The requirements of this bed structure are;
  • it has to be flat, duh!
  • i should have a low profile so i can pack gear on top of it
  • it should be small enough so that i still have room to seat three people

After just a couple of hours of messing around here's what I've come up with:

With the passenger seat moved forward all the way, i was able to cut the platform at 68" long - juuuust long enough for me to stretch out. Who knew being 5'7" would ever come in handy!  :laugh:

Of course i'm not done yet, I'm going to cut the platform where it hangs over the back seat and install a row of hinges so the thing can fold up and allow the passenger seat to be used. I'll probably also build some sort of drop down legs to support the hinged bit that over hangs the back seat. Lastly i'm going to paint on some sort of water resistant finish. Unfortunately i ran out of time this weekend, but i'll post more pics as soon as i find more time to work on the bed.