Hello Guest

Newbie - Questions about Suzuki & Parts Availibility vs Grand Vitara / Tracker

• 4 Replies

Offline loomis

• ZUKIWORLD Online!
Hi.

So let me start by saying that I'm not a mechanic, but I am interested in owning historically well-built, thought to be somewhat "bulletproof" vehicles, whether that be an old Volvo 240, the 2001 Accord that's my daily driver, or the 4.3L S-10 my dad drove 400k miles.

Anyhow, my mechanics (two different unrelated guys, who are both excellent life-long mechanics) said recently when I asked about Suzukis (because I had seen an SX4 for sale that was really inexpensive with really low miles) to "never buy a Suzuki," because of parts availability.

At that time it never crossed my mind that the 2nd gen Grand Vitara in the USA was the same as the Chevy Tracker. I always loved that body style, similar to the original RAV4's. So I never was able to ask them this because quarantine happened...

So my question is, is the 2nd gen Grand Vitara the *one* early to mid 2000's Suzuki that's safe to buy because all the parts are both cheap and readily available GM Autozone type parts?

And if yes, of the 98-05 (that's 2nd gen, right?) models, which years are the parts most getable, and which years are the most reliable? I had read some years had timing chain tensioner issues? Were there 2wd models? Are they all 4WD or are the AWD? I couldn't find clear answers online.

Thank you!

Online fordem

The reason you're being told to not buy a Suzuki is a very good, very simple one, a couple of years ago ASMC (American Suzuki Motor company) decided to opt out of the North American market, "orphaning" their cars & trucks, although they still support their motor cycles and marine products.