Hello Guest

Cam Install....Searched but couldn't find already posted....

• 7 Replies

Offline Pavulon

Cam Install....Searched but couldn't find already posted....
« on: February 01, 2012, 09:46:16 PM »
Debating getting either a calmini or isky torquer cam for my 87 samurai 1.3...... never done any cam work before, so kinda lost on the process, and haven't been able to find a guide on how to do such an install.... I plan on doing a timing belt soon and figured while i had stuff apart, might as well through a cam in, if its something simple.... any links, thoughts, ideas, etc would be greatly appreciated, this is my first build of any type of motor, so def. a learn as I go thing...thanks in advance

Offline mrfuelish

• you must have a perception problem.
Re: Cam Install....Searched but couldn't find already posted....
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 09:53:39 PM »
you have to change allot of other things in line ahead and behind it if you know what I mean , nothing is for free and most of the time not that easy in the long run you are better off putting in a 1.6 but if you have the big carb and exhaust, etc go for it.
1987,1988,1988,1990 samurai's,  1953 m38a1,  1996 x-90,blue.1996 x-90 red.1994 2 door tracker.   only Dead Fish go with the flow.                No Hairy Nosed Wombats were ran over on the trail today.       My ZUK is Xenophobic.

Offline Pavulon

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 09:59:16 PM »
At this point i have thorley headers, flowmaster exhaust, and the k and n air filter in it.... rather just build out the 1.3 then swap it, just to be different....I just don't know how simple the cam install actually is once i have the timing belt off

Offline Skyhiranger

• I don't buy, what I can build
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 06:46:15 AM »
The cam is removed through the back of the head.  So you have to either pull the head, or the engine, to replace the cam.