Hello Guest

gearing help!!

• 4 Replies

Offline espo

gearing help!!
« on: April 22, 2010, 10:29:56 PM »
Hello my name is Chris.  I'm new to the 4x4 world. I have a lifted sami, with stock 1.3 motor, yota axels, yj leaf springs, missing link shackles, 33" super swampers and its goes like crap. Also, I don't have a trailer so it needs to be driven to our wheeling locations. Which t-case and/or ring and pinions gears should I use. We do a lot of mudding/trail riding, but I'd also like to be able to climb hills and rock crawl. All suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Chris 

Offline 87zukini

Re: gearing help!!
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 06:44:46 AM »
what do you have now ? sammy or toyota drive shafts ? if you need more gearing id go for axle gears as it wil put less stress on the rest or the drive train t-case driveshafts ujoints. my samurai goes good runniing 5.12 tracker gears and 34 10.5 ltb swampers only problem ive had is a cracked front housing so i am going to a toyoa or dana 44 front axle. until you know what you have its hard to tell what you need

Offline espo

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 08:00:10 PM »
I have stock transfer case, Toyota axels and Toyota driveshaft.

Offline jaunty

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2010, 11:15:46 AM »
i think the toyota axle ratios are 4.1, that is if your axles are from a 4cyl diff.

this means you are currently 13% off (too high).  you need to get that back.  Im not sure about changing ring and pinions on yota diffs but im sure somewhere here is familiar with that. 

I would go with a 6.5:1 t-case gears because it gives you major reduction in LOW range. In high range it will put you low enough to get the speed you need. 
http://www.lowrangeoffroad.com/index.php/suzuki/samurai/transfer-case.html

plug in your values here..
4.1 RP, 187% low range (for 6.5:1) and 20% high range (1.69:1)
http://www.lepayne.com/gears.html

Good luck!

Offline 87zukini

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 05:56:44 AM »