Hello Guest

Crankshaft key damage timing pulley off.

• 5 Replies

FarFetchedZUK

Crankshaft key damage timing pulley off.
« on: April 08, 2007, 12:15:39 AM »
Hello guys!
I am very mechanicly inclined (master ASE), but I have no experience with Zuki Samurai.
My question is simple why has the key that retains crankshaft timing belt pylley got wedged between crank and pulley. I will update the crankshaft retaining (17 mm) bolt according to Zuki TSB (TSB No. TS 4-11 03150). However, can I just use new crank pulley and get away with it. Or should I R+R crankshaft. I have also been thinking to weld that key to the cranckshaft (spot weld).
I would like to see real experienced Samurai owners with similar situations.
I will, eventually, R+R the engine to 1.6 or even VW TD engine(Rocky-Road). For now I need to make it roll...
Thank you!

« Last Edit: April 08, 2007, 12:18:11 AM by FarFetchedZUK »

Offline Bigzook

• Current owner of the famous Audi Kick
    • Donkey Worx Galleries
Re: Crankshaft key damage timing pulley off.
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2007, 11:02:47 AM »
I was able to get away with just a new timing gear but, The damage on my crank was not quite that bad.

Offline Mikerpm4x4

• Redline... all the time!
    • www.rpm4x4.com
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2007, 11:10:30 AM »
I have gotten away with a new gear and JB weld with one that was worse than that. replace the lower seal before you JB weld it togather. I let it sit overnight before I finished assembly. That motor is still on the road after 2 years now.

Mike
If your not living life to the fullest then your not living at all.

You wont really know if your wrong till your upsidedown

Offline daddyizzle

• Colorado is still my home!!
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2007, 02:01:15 PM »