Hello Guest

Dual battery setup

• 7 Replies

Offline caranpaima

• ZUKIWORLD Online!
Dual battery setup
« on: August 29, 2016, 07:35:52 AM »
Hello everyone.

I am looking into installing a dual battery setup on my GV. I have done some research and considering what's available locally (I live in Colombia), I think I have narrowed it down to a Optima red top as main battery and a Optima yellow top as auxiliary battery. To join the batts I know I need an isolator, and I am thinking of the well reviewed Redarc brand (https://www.redarc.com.au/battery-chargers/dual-battery-isolators) but I am a total newbie regarding car electrics. I was wondering if you could offer your opinions/experiences when installing a dual battery setup and also recommend me what Redarc Isolator I would need.

Thank you, JM.
2005 GV!, TCase and Front Skid Plates; OME Suspension (rear shocks are Doetsch 3000); Low Range OffRoad 2.5" lift; Differential drop brackets;Panhard relocation brackets; Thule rack

Online fordem

Re: Dual battery setup
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2016, 12:34:07 PM »
Take a trip to www.auszookers.com/forum - you'll find the guys there have way more experience with dual battery systems and isolators.

Please bear in mind that you have not told us why you want/need a dual battery system, and that is a factor that determines not only which batteries should be used, but also how they are linked, I personally don't care for the smart isolators in any system that does not use a pair of identical batteries.

You've chosen an Optima redtop as the main battery, and a yellow top as the auxiliary, which suggests that the intent is camping accessories or similar, if that is correct, a blue top as the auxiliary, paired with a DC-DC charger might be a better choice.

Finally - don't forget that all of the electrical energy must come from the vehicle alternator - you may want to consider an upgrade for that also.
'98 SQ420 Grand Vitara
'05 JB420 Grand Vitara
'16 APK416 Vitara