Hello Guest

Samurai Gearing Question

• 6 Replies

Samurai Gearing Question
« on: April 07, 2010, 09:37:03 PM »
I know there is alot of write ups on this already, and i am sorry for another one!! I am not very good at understanding diffs ??? So right now i have stock gears with lock-right lockers in the front and rear, i got 2 tracker 3rds for really cheap, which is 5.13 gears. now what exactly do i have to do to use them? with the lockers do i still have the 4 pins? if i understanding right i can weld the pins in and all i would have to come up with is a spacer? correct? thanks for the help!!!!

Offline Drone637

• Evil Cow
Re: Samurai Gearing Question
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2010, 11:57:18 AM »
Did you get two front 5.12 3rds or is it a front and a rear?
96 Geo Tracker, x-SJ-410,  x-White Rabbit, x-Project Trouble
Crawlers NorthWest
x-Trouble Racing

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2010, 05:54:54 PM »
i got 2 fronts

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2010, 06:03:53 PM »
well the hole story goes i bought 2 samurai axles with these gears in them, the front had a locker and chromo shafts but the housing has been smashed, and the rear was welded, well the rear was junk so he gave me a extra 3rd front out of a tracker. the rear that is in my sami has stock gears with a locker. so i swaped the front over into my housing, and now i kinda stuck on the rear?? would like to use my locker but not sure if i can or what i would have to do??

Offline wildgoody

• Turbocharged 150HP 1.6L 8V 93MPH 1/4 mile
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2010, 07:36:50 PM »
I never could tell what the difference, or even if the is one between the front
of a Sidekick and the rear of a Sammy locker, I do know the Trail Tough has the rear
Sammy carrier that goes into the front of the Track/Kicks, because I have one,
but you might want to try putting the locker into the diffs and give it a go, the
biggest problem I see for you is setting up the gears right, if you take the gears