Hello Guest

Shackle lift

• 6 Replies

Offline JnT

• I Love ZUKIWORLD!
Shackle lift
« on: January 10, 2006, 01:00:00 PM »
Just recently bought a 95 Samurai and joined this site.
The Samurai is stock with the exception of 235/75 mud grips. They look big on the Suzuki!
I just cut the door hinges to allow the doors to come off. I like it a lot!

Been looking at small lift kits.
The Calmini shackle reverse at 240.00 or 2 inch shackle lifts at around 50.00 on ebay.
Which would be better?
What complications would have to be addressed with each method?
2 inches will do for now as the truck is driven to work. Bought it to save on gas and don't anticipate doing any rock crawling or deep mud rides.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 02:40:53 PM by JnT »

Offline tsanchez

• I Love ZUKIWORLD!
Re: Shackle lift
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2006, 01:27:28 PM »
I'm new to this so I don't have all the technical expertise that many here have, but I'll give you my two cents worth.

I put a set of the 2" lift shackles from e-bay ($60 shipped) on because I wanted a "cheap" lift on my new sammi.

In the meantime, I also had to put on new bushings (40 bucks), I need new shocks now (40 bucks) and I'm going to have to get shims to fix the caster angle and hope that fixes the crappy handling - I could probably use some steering correction as well...

So I've exceeded $140 and should spend $100 more...

The lift looks good from the side, and the back (for the most part) - But from the front I look like count zukula or something.  The front shackles hang almost as low as the front pumpkin...

YUCK

Now I've decided to ditch that lift and do what I should have done in the beginning -  I'm getting a set of YJ springs - I'll run those in the rear with fabbed plates and TrailTough YJ shackles and move my rears up front with missing links.  Add a dropped pitman arm for steering and some new shocks and brake lines from a junyard metro and I'll be good to go.  I'm staying SPUA as well.