Hello Guest

i got a new zook

• 12 Replies

Offline SiKiD_01

• Fully Sik, Flying Vit.
i got a new zook
« on: August 04, 2007, 08:17:26 PM »
i just bought another vit the other week, and its immaculate and flawless for a 95 soft top. its basically still virgin. 1.6l MPFI 16V

but after driving it for a while, such as running around doing stuff all day, it starts to cut out. by that, i mean it loses power as if the fuel is not igniting like there's no spark.

it just dies, the revs go down steadily, and if i back off, it will just go back to idle. sometimes it doesn't even have enough power to move off in 1st and the change to 2nd is just as bad sometimes.

i was thinking its a fuel delivery problem. could it be water contaminating the tank. i changed the fuel filter, and the old fuel filter was heavy as shit when i tipped all the fuel out of it, and the fuel coming out of it looked like rusty water.

i don't know too much on the 1.6 efi vits, as i'm just starting out again, but would it be anything to do with the fuel pump as well? is the fuel pump an internal one or a external one? can i run an external pump?

if i stop the car, and let it sit for 5 minutes, and then start off again, its fine again for a while. it seems that its only doing this when it get hot from a lot of driving.

i changed the air filter, oil, oil filter, plugs and leads, as the car has only done 120,000kms. everything else seems fine.

any help would be greatly appreciated. what could the problems be, what would be a solution to a fix, and i have no idea about finding stuff out with codes and so on.

thanks heaps in advance.

1989 Suzuki Vitara... Stock Standard

something closer to home: www.DARWIN4X4.net[/url]

outerlimits4x4.com = Great Tech, Bad Influence

Offline Rhinoman

• Bend it, Break it, Fix it
    • Rhinoman
Re: i got a new zook
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2007, 07:21:11 AM »